Reality of Life as an Author

Have you ever heard the saying that life as an author was all sunshine and rainbows? No? Yeah, me neither. Of course we all know about the authors who truly do have that life. They became household names, had movies made from their books, and have their own little paparazzi and entourage. But for most of us, life goes on as usual, just as if we never published a book at all. Except is it?

When it comes to income, yeah, that is about the same as ever before. But when it comes to self worth, pride, and knowing that you are following through on your dreams? That makes all the difference. You walk a little taller, you smile a little bigger and you know that you are setting a good example for anyone who might happen to look up to you.

Writing can be very solitary. There are no co-workers to chat with, no boss to tell you exactly what to do (which can be a great thing and also frustrating. I mean, wouldn’t it be great to have someone say, write this and it will be a best seller?) and most of the time, writers need to be left alone to write. I don’t think I know anyone who can write while having a conversation in a busy room with music so loud the floors vibrated beneath their feet. 

So how do we keep from going crazy and make sure that we keep our crafts top notch? Well, you make friends. Yep, Refuse to be a solitary writer and join book clubs, writers groups, join in on Twitter when they have scheduled chats using hashtags (like #indiechat, #yalitchat and #nalitchat) so everyone can keep up with each other. You will meet the best beta’s and critique partners through mutual groups and who knows, you might even meet your new best friend there. I know I did. My best friend and I met through a writing blog and when it dissolved  she and I stayed in touch, began our own that is long gone now, and still are each other’s beta readers, plot bunny helpers, and aside from anything writing related, we are best friends. We talk every day, visit each other, and call each other out when it needs to be done. If I had kept to the solitary life of the old school stereotypical writer, I would never have met her. 

The online world has made a writer’s job both easier and harder all at the same time. Every bit of information on how to become not only a better writer, but a published author is right at the tip of your fingertips. But that also means, there are A LOT of people taking advantage of this new world and there are as many new books and authors as there are…well, fingertips. 

But should we be upset with this new influx of writers or should we celebrate it? I am completely in the “LET’S PARTY!” mode and celebrate every new author. If it wasn’t for my fingertips searching out all the information I needed, I would never have been able to publish LIFE ON LOAN(link) or any of my upcoming novels. 

So is my life any different now than it was four years ago when I really started to work on my writing? Absolutely. I may not have much more money, but I have a hell of a lot more friends, pride, and knowledge about how my world works.

Leave a Reply

