There is nothing Aspiring about me

I am an author. I am a photographer. I may not be world famous for either, but that does not change who I am. I am honestly sick and tired of all the self deprecation that goes on in the world. I am not exempt from it, I am horribly hard on myself in all aspects and that is one thing I know I need to work on. But I DO know who I am.

So many authors out there trying to get published have Aspiring Author on their profiles. Not me. At one point I had Emerging Author. I have said before that my day job, besides being a Mom to two crazy wonderful children, is photography. I love it. I have a passion for all things art and photography is my medium of choice, that and the written word. I have never called myself an Aspiring Photographer since I have had a camera to my face since I was a young child. I have been nominated in a regional photography awards as “Best Emerging Photographer” and I am very proud of that.

 Work Shoes©GonetPhotography

Work Shoes
©GonetPhotography

Let me give you the definition of some key words here and why it bothers me so much.

Aspire:

verb (used without object), as·pired, as·pir·ing.

1. to long, aim, or seek ambitiously; be eagerly desirous, especially for something great or of high value

So Aspire means to aim to be something. Okay, that makes sense. You aim to be an author. But wait a second. What exactly is an author?

Author:

noun

1. a person who writes a novel, poem, essay, etc.; the composer of a literary work, as distinguished from a compiler, translator, editor, or copyist.

So, have you written anything? Is your novel complete? Or are you just hoping to one day write something? If you write, you are an author. You do not Aspire to be an author, you ARE an author. So, why do I love the word Emerging?

Emerging

verb (used without object), e·merged, e·merg·ing.

1. to come forth into view or notice, as from concealment or obscurity
To come forth into view, huh. So I go from being an author no one has seen or read before to being published and noticed…
Too many people see every obstacle as failure. And even if you are not at the point of obstacles and rejections, if you put words from your head, whether an imaginary world or a memoir of your life, you ARE an author. Do not devalue yourself. Celebrate what you are and what you do. If publication is your path of choice, please, call yourself an emerging author. The only time you should use aspire is if you add in published. I aspire to be a published author. But I AM an author.

*Not my photo. Click for link*

 

2 thoughts on “There is nothing Aspiring about me

  1. Hi Adrianne, How nice to see my image here…thanks for letting me know and I’m happy to have you use it. I love this post and love your belief in YOU. It’s so important to know/remember that the only validation we need is from ourselves.

Leave a Reply

