Saying Goodbye to 2012 and Hello to 2013

Happy New Year!

I am sure that there are so many blog posts out there today on the very same subject. It is after all the very last day of 2012 and everyone has high hopes and aspirations for 2013. I am no different. But I like to think that this year my plans are more attainable, more important than any others I have ever set.

You see, this year I NEED to help my family financially. I know that most authors say they write because they have these stories inside them that they feel compelled to share with the world. I feel that too, I do, but honestly, I either need to get a job outside of the home (besides being a mom and a photographer and a writer-all of which are very rewarding in their own way, just not at all considered a money maker) or query my ass off for the next month, if I don’t get the response I want need, I need to bite the bullet and self publish LIFE ON LOAN. I need to edit my latest novel, OVEREXPOSED, and get it ready for publication and I need to start on my third book, the first in a series.

The problem with that? Procrastinator is my middle name. Okay, not really, but you know what I mean. Seriously, I have a terrible problem with “I will do it later” and “I can read one more book before I do (fill in the super important thing here)”

 

The reason it is so important this year, more than any other, is that I have family depending on me. I have children and a husband who have been nothing but supportive and it’s my turn to try to return that support. My youngest will be starting school this coming school year and if all goes according to plan, we want to purchase our own home (FINALLY!).

 

We want to have that financial security, to be able to have something that is really ours. I don’t want much. I just want some place to call my own. I want to live in an area that I can be confident in my children’s education and safety (as much as any of us can after recent, horrible events.)

I guess the point of this post is to tell you all that one way or another, you will be seeing a published novel from me. I will try to make my love of all things creative, both written word and photographic, be part of my families income stream. I have to give it my all before I give in and take on a job that I hate. I owe it to myself and to my children to follow my dreams, but I actually have to do it. No more putting things off. No more holding back because I am afraid of failure. If I only sell a handful of my novels, at least I put myself out there and didn’t let fear rule my life.

 

Leave a Reply

