The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

So there is this thing, this blog hop, called The Next Big Thing. Apparently, it has been going on for months and months and someone finally tagged me. The wonderful J.C. Emery answered her questions last week and tagged me to answer some of my own.

What is a blog hop you ask? Basically its a questionnaire of sorts all about an author’s work in progress. They then tag another author to do the same. Kinda like a chain letter, but better, since there is no threat of bad luck, just wonderful amounts of possibilities to show readers a new book to fall in love with. Since each author links to the person that tagged them, and to new authors, a reader could honestly follow link after link to hundreds of authors who are participating and find enough new books to last them a life time.

So, since it’s Christmas Eve and I do have two small children to entertain and bake Santa’s cookies with, lets get this show on the road, shall we?

THE NEXT BIG THING BLOG HOP!

What is the working title of your book?

Life on Loan

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

This is a hard one. Sometimes, ideas just pop into my head. It can be the most random thing too. I will be talking about one thing then all of a sudden, my brain goes off on a tangent and poof, new plot bunny.

J.C. and I joke that my plot bunnies multiply as fast as regular bunnies, and it is not always a good thing. But for this particular book, my husband and I were talking about how to teach my then four year old daughter right from wrong and how to make it stick with her throughout her life, no matter what circumstance she found herself in.

Next thing I know I am furiously typing out the basic plot of LIFE ON LOAN, the story of a girl who lives a hard life, but never forgets what her mother taught her, even if her version has to change a bit to survive.

What genre does your book fall under?

Contemporary YA

What is a one sentence synopsis of your book?

Stealing food or clothing is nothing new to Paige after living four years on the street, but when a exceptionally harsh winter hits, she and her partner Noah, end up taking more than they ever have before.

(ONE SENTENCE IS HAAAAARRRRRDDDD!)

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

OOOH! I love this question!

Seventeen year old Paige is homeless. She tries to do everything she can to stick to the morals her mother taught her before she was killed when Paige was only ten. She steals what she needs to to survive, but writes everything down, promising herself to pay it back when she can. She goes to the library regularly and has tried to keep up with what she thinks she would learn if she were in school. She is like a mini adult in a teenager’s body. She had to grown up much too soon and has trouble acting like a kid.

Paige I can see as Deborah Ann Wolf

Nineteen year old Noah Ballis is new to being homeless and turns into Paige’s hero. He saves her from a group of men trying to force her into things she doesn’t want in a dark alley. Noah was traveling from NYC and looking for a better place to be. He migrated to the USA when he was a young boy and became a citizen. His family decided to go back to Greece but he wanted to stay. He was very much a child and had trouble being serious at all.

Noah I can see as Ed Westwick (but with longer hair, falling into his eyes)

 

Will your book be self-published or agented?

Hoping for an agent, but with the plot line of LIFE ON LOAN, it would be a hard sell, or so I have been told by a few agents. So there is a good chance it will be self published and I am okay with that, as long as it gets out there.

How long did it take for you to write your first draft?

From start to finish about 10 months since I took a 9 month Hiatus…I know I know, bad author!

What else about your book might pique the readers’ interest?

If you like _______, you might like LIFE ON LOAN

  • Drama
  • Heart wrenching characters
  • Romance as a sub plot
  • Rooting for the bad guys

 

Here’s a sneak peek of the first chapter of LIFE ON LOAN

              There was just enough light to see our way over to the dumpster. The music and laughter from inside the cafe floated on the air: If we tried really hard, we could, for just a second, pretend that we were normal; that we would sit down to a meal to talk and laugh. But the moment Dani opened the lid to the dumpster; I was brought back into reality. With a sigh, I climbed in and searched for the tied off bag of food the cafe always put in a heavy duty doubled up trash bag. The bag, that on some days was our lifeline, held only food, keeping it safe for consumption if we reached it soon enough. The workers tied it off, which kept the food from touching anything else in the dumpster. Of course, they didn’t do it for us; they did it to keep the rats out. Some days that’s what I felt like, a giant rat; scouring for food, frightening passer-bys.
              I tried to hold my breath as the putrid smells infiltrated my senses. Stepping as carefully as I could on the black bags, I began my search. I needed to find the most recent bag. The shame filled me as I actually contemplated eating while I was still knee high in someone else’s garbage. With a shake of my head and what felt like lead in my heart, I climbed out with our food in hand.

So that’s my BLOG HOP post, You should click the link below in one week’s time to see the post from

WRITER THERAPY

A website and blog run by FIVE talented people!

One thought on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop | Writer Therapy

Leave a Reply

