Review of Beautiful Demons by Sarra Cannon

I came across Beautiful Demons by Sarra Cannon quite by accident. Or maybe it was fate. Either way, I am SO glad I did. This book is the first in the series and I have to say, the minute I finished this one, I was itching to buy the next and the one after that and after that…

Back Cover Blurb: “In Peachville, even the cheerleaders have a dark side…

Harper Madison isn’t like other girls. She has extraordinary powers, but her inability to control them has gotten her kicked from so many foster homes she’s lost count. Shadowford Home for Girls is her last chance, and she hopes Peachville High will be the fresh start she needs.

But when evidence ties her to the gruesome murder of a Demons cheerleader, Harper discovers this small town has a big secret.

Beautiful Demons is a fast-paced YA novel with magic, mystery, and a touch of romance. This series will appeal to fans of Pretty Little Liars, Hex Hall, and The Vampire Diaries.” –Taken from Amazon.com

Basic plot line: Beautiful Demons has this mysterious supernatural plot line that keeps you reading. Harper is a teenage girl who is in the foster care system. She has been shuffled around from home to home because no one knows what to do with her and her magical powers tend to surface without anyway for her to control them. When she is taken to Shadowford manor, everything in her life changes. She begins to meet people who are like her even if they won’t say so. She makes friends and enemies just like any other teenager. But when one of those enemies winds up dead, things change. Without giving too much away, The magic of the area starts to effect her. The people who were once her enemy are now her best friends and the beautiful bad boy that had captured her heart is a complete stranger. The fact that the reader doesn’t really know what’s going on till the end does not by any means take away from the plot like you would think. The way it is written, gives you enough clues to start making predictions, but not enough that you are still totally shocked when the “whodunit” is revealed. This book has magic, mystery, teenage angst, and two heart throbs for the leading lady to choose between, even if the magic of Peachville doesn’t let her remember much.

How long it took to read: I read this book in less than three days. I have a feeling that when I start on the next installment this talented author has put out will be the same.

Characters:  I absolutely LOVE Harper. Even when she is being effected by the strange magic, she is still in there. When something is going on that is completely out there, she still questions it and wants answers even if she doesn’t know why. Her subconscious is fighting to remain in control, pushing random memories up to her in key moments, helping her make the right choices.

Take it or leave it: TAKE IT! TAKE IT! TAKE IT! Then go buy the next one!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s