The second draft

Life on Loan has been complete since October. I let it sit for a while. I wanted to let my mind work on other things for a while so when I went back to it to edit, I was seeing it with fresh eyes. I also joined a critique group to help me along. Let’s face it, we all know our own stories and characters so well that we have trouble seeing the problems in our master pieces.

 I am just now editing chapter seven. I have always heard that the second draft is always the hardest because you have to chop it to pieces only to build it back up again. I’m not finding it that bad. I have gone through and taken out what didn’t work or move the plot forward and expanded on elements that needed some extra attention.

If you have worked on a second draft, how did you find the process?

Leave a Reply

